My Current “Paying” Ministry

I am a lucky duck. I love my job/ministry. Here’s what I am busy with these days. And It is why I have been neglecting my newly formed blog, among other things.

First, I am my congregation’s “media queen.” Depending on the month, I coordinate contributions to and publish, usually both in print and e-media, utilizing an incredible array of different kinds of software:

  • A 10 to 12 page newsletter once a month
  • A weekly email blast describing what’s happening in my church to not quite 200 subscribers
  • Occasional special email reminders, messages and greetings
  • 4 or 5 worship bulletins with announcements
  • Church signs, the marquee one out front as well as the posters we put in our entryways and other places in our building
  • Posts on our congregation’s FB, Youtube channel, Twitter, etc. pages
  • Press releases!

Second, I am my congregation’s “calendar queen.”  I manage the church calendar, for our internal church groups and folks as well as many community organizations:

  • The high school across the street uses our facilities for testing and some other events
  • Our local VA holds their “Stand Down” event at our church once a year
  • A suicide prevention group currently meets in our facility
  • A trans youth support group meets in our facility
  • Two different groups of local artists meet in our facility
  • Grand Junction’s oldest running AA group meets in our facility …
  • ,,, and I could go on and on! Our congregation believes in and celebrates the ministry of offering space to all kinds of community organizations who purpose and mission are resonant with that of our church’s.

Third, I manage a “harem” [not sure they would like being called that?] of office volunteers, the Office Angels, who do so many of the simple, yet so very important tasks that make our church work, everything from entering attendance to folding bulletins. They are also the very friendly face that greets everyone who comes into our church while I am hidden behind my computer being the media and calendar queen.  My job is to help them feel fulfilled in the ministry they do. I am humbled by their faithfulness.

Fourth, “other duties as needed:”

  • I help manage our church data base
  • I am a clearing house incarnate of useful information
  • I watch over our office supply inventory and office equipment –they actually gave me a budget and a church charge card, Nyah! Ha ha ha haaaaaa ….

My desire is to be the oil on the wheels of our church’s ministry.

And that’s just my 25 hour a week paid job. 😉

I volunteer as a church musician, sing in choir weekly and serve as an occasional handbell sub and, hopefully over the summer, a soloist.  I am a “stand by” liturgist.

I am not bored.  It’s a good and blessed thing!

Leave a comment